Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is a group of stakeholders who represent organizations, businesses, farms, local government, and other entities that work to advance at least one of the Core Values in the counties that the St. Louis Food Policy Coalition supports. Each Steering Committee member participates on at least one Workgroup.


Steering Committee members and individuals in the community with related expertise and interest will come together to form workgroups to advance a policy or collaborative project initiative. The Steering Committee determines which initiatives the Coalition will lead and workgroups will be formed to take action on those initiatives. One or two Chairs will lead each workgroup and the role of Chair will be filled by a Steering Committee Member.

Organizational Supporters

Organizational Supporters are organizations that formally support the mission and vision statements of the St. Louis Food Policy Coalition and offer to provide resources to further the Coalition’s goals, such as informational materials and support at events.


Current Coalition Steering Committee Members

Matt Schindler, Gateway Greening


Brian Hurd, Rise


Debi Kelly, Horticulture and Local Foods Specialist
MU Extension in Jefferson County


Ryan Albritton, Sprouthood 

Mary Bolling, Family Nutrition Educator
MU Extension in St. Louis City


Miranda Duschack, Lincoln University Cooperative Extension





Mariella Funk, Operation Food Search


Kevin Warner, Fair Shares CCSA


Kaitie Adams, EarthDance Farms








Brian DeSmet, Fair Food Network

Shirley Jarman, Good Natured Family Farms



Workgroup Members 

Bonnie Harper, One STL



Current Organizational Supporters

Urban Harvest STL

Community Builders Network






BJC's Healthy Schools Healthy Communities


DeSales Housing


Illinois Stewardship Alliance 

City Greens Market




For more information about how you or your organization can be involved in the St. Louis Food Policy Coalition, contact MCE Food and Farm Coordinator, Melissa Vatterott, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by phone at 314-727-0600, ext. 11. 

Login Form